QB3 Central WebsiteQB3-Berkeley | QB3-UCSC | QB3-UCSF


Amy HerrJanuary 22, 2016 - Herr receives mid-career award
Amy Herr is the 2016 recipient of the Mid-Career Achievement Award from the American Electrophoresis Society for exceptional contributions to the field of electrophoresis and microfluidics. More >


Teresa Head-Gordon and Seung-Wuk LeeJanuary 18, 2016 - Head-Gordon and Lee honored
Teresa Head-Gordon and Seung-Wuk Lee have been elected as new Fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College (AIMBE). The College of Fellows is comprised of the top two percent of medical and biological engineers in the country. More >


Roberto ZoncuJanuary 13, 2016 - Zoncu awarded
Roberto Zoncu has received a Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovator Award for his proposed work to synthesize novel molecules that can specifically disable the lysosomal-mTORC1 signaling pathway as a new means of starving cancer cells and thus blocking tumor growth. More >


Jasper RineDecember 15, 2015 - Rine elected to National Academy of Inventors
The National Academy of Inventors has elected Jasper Rine to its ranks in honor of his contributions in the field of gene regulation that have spawned three startup companies and two successful acquisitions or IPOs and transformed biology laboratory curricula to instill a passion for scientific discovery into undergraduate teaching labs. More >


Xavier DarzacqNovember 3, 2015 - Einstein and Berkeley receive $4.25 million from NIH for next-generation gene imaging
Xavier Darzacq is leading the Berkeley component of a five-year, $4.25 million grant awarded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to develop tools that can image genes and the proteins for which they code. More >


Evan MillerNovember 2, 2015 - Miller wins ICBS Young Chemical Biologist Award 2015
As one of four awardees, Evan Miller gave a podium presentation at the 2015 joint meeting of ICBS and the European Chemical Biology Society (ECBS) in Berlin, Oct. 7–9. More >


Undergraduate researchersOctober 28, 2015 - Undergraduate research on the rise at Berkeley
Laura Waller, Daniel Fletcher, and other QB3 faculty members are providing projects accessible to undergraduate students who are in turn making valuable research contributions. More >


Sarah RichardsonOctober 13, 2015 - Richardson receives L’Oréal For Women in Science Fellowship
Sarah Richardson, a Berkeley/JBEI postdoctoral fellow, received the 2015 For Women in Science Fellowship, which honors female scientists at critical stages of their career with $60,000 fellowships to advance postdoctoral research. More >


Wenjun Zhang & Gloria BrarOctober 8, 2015 - NIH rewards high-risk research by Brar and Zhang
The high-risk, high-reward research program of the National Institutes of Health has chosen Gloria Brar and Wenjun Zhang to receive funds to pursue innovative approaches to some of today's most pressing biomedical challenges. More >


Jay KeaslingOctober 8, 2015 - Keasling honored
Jay Keasling is a winner of the 2015 Eric and Sheila Samson Prime Minister's Prize for Innovation in Alternative Fuels for Transportation. Keasling's research has enabled organisms to transform cellulosic biomass to high quality fuels.
More >


Jennifer DoudnaOctober 2, 2015 - Doudna receives L’Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science Award
Jennifer Doudna, who invented a gene-editing tool that has taken the research world by storm, was named one of five laureates of the 2016 L’Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science Awards in the field of life sciences. More >


Ahmet YildizSeptember 24, 2015 - Yildiz awarded ASCB-Gibco Emerging Leaders Prize
Ahmet Yildiz won one of the American Society for Cell Biology's first-ever ASCB-Gibco Emerging Leaders Prize for his work on understanding the mechanism of the motor protein dynein and maintenance of chromosomes' telomeres. More >


Eva NogalesAugust 12, 2015 - Nogales wins Mildred Cohn Award
The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has awarded Eva Nogales the Mildred Cohn Award for her significant contribu- tions to biological chemistry. More >


Daniel FeltcherJuly 9, 2015 - Fletcher to chair Bioengineering
Daniel Feltcher has been appointed chair of the Department of Bioengineering succeeding Kevin Healy who will return to teaching and research. More >


Departmental Chairs Jeffrey Reimer (left) and David Wemmer (right) with Berkeley Citation recipient Alex PinesJune 24, 2015 - Alex Pines awarded the Berkeley Citation
The Berkeley Citation was presented to Alex Pines at a celebration of his 70th birthday, held during the 56th ENC Experimental Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Conference. Pines, a pioneer in the development and applications of nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy, was recognized for his distinguished service to the university. More >


Jennifer Doudna & Emmanuelle CharpentierMay 28, 2015 - Doudna and Charpentier win Princess of Asturias Award for gene-editing technology
Jennifer Doudna and Emmanuelle Charpentier, who have been credited with creating revolutionary gene-editing technology, have won this year's Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research. More >


Jennifer DoudnaMay 1, 2015 - Influential Women 2015: Jennifer Doudna
Molecular and cell biology professor Jennifer Doudna has been named one of the most influential women in Bay Area business by the San Francisco Business Times. She says that "working with outstanding students and postdoctoral associates, many of whom are now accomplished independent scientists," is her proudest professional accomplishment. More >


David Schaffer & Irina ConboyFebruary 10, 2015 - Schaffer and Conboy win Bridging the Gap Award
The Rogers Family Foundation provides annual proof-of-concept funding for UC research teams through QB3's Bridging the Gap Awards. Of 17 awards since 2007, 14 have supported projects that led to technology licenses or startups. David Schaffer and Irina Conboy direct one of this year's winning projects: Therapeutic Potential of Combining Small Molecule Signaling Modulators for Neuroregeneration and Rejuvenation. More >


Eva NogalesJanuary 28, 2015 - Nogales wins Hodgkin Award
The Protein Society awarded Eva Nogales the Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin Award, in recognition of exceptional contributions in protein science that profoundly influence our understanding of biology. The award is named for Hodgkin, a founder of the science of protein crystallography and a Nobel Laureate. Nogales will present the award talk at the 2015 Protein Society Symposium in Barcelona next July. More >


Connor Landgraf & Anna SchneiderJanuary 19, 2015 - Alumni in Forbes 30 Under 30
Each year Forbes names leading researchers in 20 fields, in its "30 Under 30" feature. The current healthcare list includes BioE alum Connor Landgraf (M.Eng '14) from the Eko Devices team, which developed a stethoscope attachment that amplifies and captures heart sounds. The current energy list includes Anna Schneider (Ph.D., Biophysics, '13, Geissler lab), founder of WattTime, which provides real-time energy data. More >


Sanjay Kumar, Mohammad Mofrad, and Niren MurthyJanuary 15, 2015 - Kumar, Mofrad and Murthy new AIMBE Fellows
The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has announced the pending induction of Sanjay Kumar, Mohammad Mofrad, and Niren Murthy to its College of Fellows for their significant contributions to bioengineering research. More >


Elçin Ünal & Nicholas IngoliaJanuary 14, 2015 - Ingolia and Ünal Receive Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology Nicholas Ingolia and Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development Elçin Ünal have been named as two of six winners of the 2015 Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award for early career scientists doing novel research into cancer. More >


» News & Events






» In the Media






» Noteworthy

» Multimedia