Our People

Professor Sanjay Kumar is the director of QB3-Berkeley.

Sanjay Kumar stands in front of a tree on the UC Berkeley campus
Sanjay Kumar, QB3-Berkeley’s director. Photo: Annie Lin.

Sanjay Kumar(opens in a new tab), MD, PhD, is Chancellor’s Professor in the Departments of Bioengineering and Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at UC Berkeley. He holds joint appointments in the UCSF Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences and the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. In 1996, Kumar earned his BS in chemical engineering at the University of Minnesota, and in 2003, he earned his MD and PhD in molecular biophysics from Johns Hopkins University. He then completed postdoctoral training at Boston Children’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School. He joined the UC Berkeley faculty in 2005 and chaired the Department of Bioengineering from 2019-2022. Kumar’s research program focuses on understanding and engineering cell mechanobiology and cell-biomaterial interfaces, particularly in the context of brain cancer and stem cell technology.

 

QB3-Berkeley Staff

Cherry Chung
Facilities & Engineering Director
QB3-Berkeley
cherry.chung@berkeley.edu
Donna Hendrix
Managing Director
QB3-Berkeley
510-666-3316
dkhendrix@berkeley.edu
Kate Chase
Program Coordinator & Graduate Advisor
Biophysics Graduate Group & Computational Biology
510-642-0379
katechase@berkeley.edu
Kris Thompson
Assistant Building Manager
QB3-Berkeley
510-666-2666
kristine@berkeley.edu
Mackenzie Smith
Communications Manager
QB3-Berkeley
510-666-3309
mackenzie.smith@berkeley.edu
Mike Bentley
Receiving Department Lead
Stanley Hall Receiving
510-642-6181
mbentley@berkeley.edu
Oliver Santos
Program Support Administrator
QB3-Berkeley
510-666-3317
omsantos@berkeley.edu
Rosanne Lurie
Director
QB3-Berkeley Graduate and Postdoc Career Development
510-666-3323
rlurie@berkeley.edu
Thom Opal
EH&S Specialist
QB3-Berkeley
510-666-3307
opal@berkeley.edu
Xuan Quach
Executive Director
Center for Computational Biology
510-666-3342
xuquach@berkeley.edu